#ISaidYes

OBSBlogHop
I have had high blood pressure for as long as I remember. I recall being at a doctor’s office when I was 16 years old and he was considering putting me on medication because it was so high. He said it was unheard-of that a young girl should have a blood pressure reading so high. I chalked it up to my family history and thought nothing of it.

Years went by. I decided to go on medication. Then came love, then came marriage, then came baby in the baby carriage (ok, I’m a little silly today, I do have a point). When I was pregnant with both kids my blood pressure sky-rocketed, to the point of being on a high dosage of medication throughout the pregnancies and being put on bed rest. Again, I chalked it up to my family history and thought nothing of it.

Years went by. Five years after my second child and the blood pressure was still high. I decided to get the advise of a cardiologist in the area (I’ve had cardiologists in the past but all did the normal tests and just said to stay on medication and everything will be alright). This cardiologist was different. He didn’t think a woman my age (I still like to think I’m young, let’s pretend) should be on so much medication. He tested me. He told me to lose the baby weight (can you call it baby weight if your “baby” is 5?), eat right and exercise.

images

Went back to the doctor every year and he told me the same thing, lose the weight and exercise, blah, blah. Now, I’m not trying to complain, I don’t want to be silly here but I really didn’t think I was fat. It might have been that I was comfortable in my skin, sure I was 30 plus pounds more than I was when I got married, but doesn’t everyone gain weight with marriage and kids? I fit in a size 10, which I thought was fine, and never thought I was big enough to worry about losing weight, I was happy, my husband loved me the way I was, so he was happy, all good right?

Years went by. I was at a prayer meeting at our church, a healing service to be specific, and I was praying, “Oh God, PLEASE, PLEASE take away my blood pressure issues. Make my blood pressure normal so I won’t have to be on medication.” What I heard knocked me to the ground. “You do your part and I’ll do mine.” It was that simple. So what was my part? It couldn’t be that silly weight loss and exercise thing again, could it? “You do your part and I’ll do mine.” Oh man, God wants me to eat healthy and exercise, really???

I decided to say yes. Ok, God, even though I don’t think I’m fat and even though I’m happy with my self image, I’ll eat right and exercise. So easy to say, not so easy to do. But I did it. I did my part. I have to admit, reading Lysa TerKeurst’s Made To Crave book helped me tremendously. With the help of the book and a small group of ladies at the church to do the study with me, I did it!

Months went by. I lost 25 pounds and my cardiologist took me off of one of my blood pressure medications. I said yes. I did my part and God did His. I have a follow up appointment in October and since I’ve been maintaining my lower weight and exercising and my blood pressure has been lower and lower, I’m believing I’ll be able to step down my other medication as well.

I said yes to doing my part, I pray you can say yes too!
Shila

2 thoughts on “#ISaidYes

  1. Lifting you in prayer sister, that in your obedience to saying “yes”, blessings will be multiplied and your health fully restored. Walking with you on your weight loss journey, and asking God to use your life story as a testimony to HIS goodness! Blessings sister ❤

  2. Shila ~ Love how you shared your story to tell HIS story! God’s prompting in your life and your Yes to Him, encourages me to continue on with my own weight loss program. #ISaidYes three weeks ago to bettering my health, so a HUGE thank you, for encouraging me today!

Leave a Reply

