Life Interrupted

Image

A few weeks ago I was laying in bed praying.  My prayers were specific.  I wanted more of God for our family.  As part of this “Yes To God” Bible Study I’ve been feeling hungry for the things of God.  I wanted that hunger to be something that my whole family craved.  I wanted us all to be on fire.

I guess you really need to be careful what you pray for, right?  Later that week my husband had some really bad news at work.  I won’t go into details but the result is basically a LOT less money in our pocket.  This was really a devastating blow to us financially.

We’ve been here before.  We’ve been to rock bottom.  The funny thing is, when we get there we pray a lot more.  We watch more Christian television.  We talk more about God as a family.  We listen to Christian music.  We lie on our faces before God and give all our problems to Him.  We praise God in the storm.

Hmmm…seems like our life, which has been so busy, sometimes too busy to take time to pray, has been interrupted.  All of a sudden we need God.  All of a sudden we are taking time out of our busy schedule to pray.  We are making God #1 in our life, where He should have been in the first place.  We are now having family prayer time every night, all of us, praising God for our blessings and praying for our needs.  Seems like we are now hungry for the things of God, on fire, isn’t that what I was praying for?

Image

Of course, I didn’t want what happened with our finances to happen.  That was not “my” intent.  God has bigger plans.  God has better plans.  He rocked our world, interrupted our life, to remind us of what is really important.

You know what?  I know everything is going to work out, it always does.  God ALWAYS provides for us, I have faith and believe that everything is going to be all right.  We stand firm on the promise of God from Malachi 3:10 – “Bring all the tithes into the storehouse so there will be enough food in my Temple.  If you do,” says the Lord, “I will open the windows of heaven for you.  I will pour out a blessing so great you won’t have enough room to take it in!”  I stand firm that since we always give God our tithes that he will pour out the blessings for us.

It’s so abundantly clear that this was God answering my prayer to make the whole family on fire for Him again.  I believe that we will stay this way.  That it won’t just be the tough situations that bring us to our knees but we will be there even through the easy times.

My new prayer is going to be, “God, thank you for your blessings and provisions.  Thank you that our family is on fire for you during the peaceful times, not just the hard times.  I pray we will say yes to you and follow you today and everyday.  Thank you Jesus!”

Thanking God in the challenging times, working all things for our good,

Shila

6 thoughts on “Life Interrupted

  1. Thank you this is a blessing as it reminds me I need to be on fire every day in all things,good and bad. Love the picture as well!

  2. What a great prayer! I need to add this to my prayer as well. It can be tough to pray during the peaceful times, but those are the times I also praise Him and give Him thanks.

    God bless you!

  3. Yes, when we ask, for more of Him, He does answer, doesn’t He? Praying for your family and God’s provision during this time, but mostly that as you lean on Him, each of you will grow in your walk with Him. Blessings to you my sister ❤

  4. I enjoyed reading your blog about your quest for your family being on fire for Christ. God will use your hardships to bring Him glory. I believe that your family is bringing Him glory by how you all are seeking Him.

  5. Thank you for your story. It was encouraging to me because so many people turn their backs on God when the going gets rough. Instead, your family leaned into Him! Thank you! –Jill

Leave a Reply

